Blog tour - She Lies in Wait - Gytha Lodge

March 19, 2019

 

Thank you to Jenny Platt at Penguin Random House for a gifted copy of this book in return for a fair and honest review.

 

About the book

 

Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust?

 

A teen girl goes missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth—for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson.

 

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group—Aurora Jackson—is delighted to be allowed to tag along.

 

The evening starts like any other—they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

 

Thirty years later, Aurora’s body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers—including Aurora—personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he’s determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night.

 

Sheens’s investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever.

 

My review

 

4 / 5 stars

 

The book is set in present day with flashbacks to the camping trip in 1983. The story is set around the friendship of 7 teenagers who all go camping in the 1980’s. The evening turns from an innocent camping trip to something much darker and one of the friends disappears. Her disappearance will continue to haunt the other 6 friends for 30 years afterwards.

 

Jonah Sheens is a local cop who is still working in the New Forest, when a body is discovered Jonah guesses immediately that it is Aurora the young sister of Topaz who went missing after the camping trip. He was a young police officer when Aurora went missing and Jonah is also hiding some secrets of his own. Jonah wants to find out the truth.

 

The book is cleverly written with many twists that I really enjoyed uncovering, the dynamics of the group is really interesting and how they have changed over the 30 years. The author leads the reader to many different possibilities which really threw me off the scent of who the killer was.

 

I enjoyed the book and I liked Hanson the female detective who is new in her job and I could see the possibilities for this being a TV show and for there being other books in a series. I enjoyed the setting the New Forest is an area I know well and I liked visualising the setting.

 

The book trotted along at a good pace perhaps a little slower than I usually like but I would recommend to anyone who enjoys police procedural crime with the cold case element.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us